Followup: Letter to and Response from MEP Amelia Andersdotter

Shadow Rapporteur – Best. Job. Ever.

I sent a boilerplate letter yesterday to all the EU MEPs involved with ACTA that I acquired thanks to [falkvinge.net]  Here is the response I got roughly 24 hours later.

Let me also mention that this EU politician can schmooz you way better than any US/Texas politician I’ve had communications with.  After all, she is a Shadow Rapporteur [and she’s behind me right now making me type all of this hel-…]

Thank you very much for your message. As rapporteur in the ITRE committee, I was able to convince my colleagues to follow my recommendation to reject ACTA in ITRE. I will continue to campaign for the European Parliament to assume its political responsibility to its citizens and reject ACTA, without first referring it to the European Court of Justice. Therefore, in my role as shadow rapporteur in the INTA committee, I will present the manifold objections to ACTA to the members of the committee before the vote, and ask them to vote in favour of MEP David Martin’s report. 

As all committees that have already voted on ACTA agree, ACTA is a threat to human rights, it cements an outdated copyright regime and privatises law enforcement. The intransparent negotiation process of ACTA must not be accepted by the European Parliament. 

I would like to give my thanks to you and all other activists who speak up against ACTA. Without the overwhelming protest from the internet and from the streets, ACTA would not have gotten the necessary attention to facilitate an honest debate about its ramifications. People like you who keep up the pressure against ACTA can not be thanked enough, as you don’t rely upon ACTA being defeated after the successful votes in ITRE, LIBE, JURI and DEVE. Only after ACTA’s rejection in the plenary on July 3 to 5 can we afford to celebrate.

Thank you very much for your support and keep up the good work,

MEP Amelia Andersdotter

Leave a Reply

