Like sands in an hourglass! A blast from the past?

Hello!

It’s been weeks since I’ve posted thanks to a busy summer schedule that included a move as well as a return to an old creative team that recently rediscovered how much fun writing together can be.  After nearly eight years of solitary tinkering with ideas and re-imagining the basic plot of a fun space-opera developed for wont of frat parties in college, most of the old crew have re-emerged from their life-travels with…experience!

You see, one of my writing partners from college had a short story published a few years back and I had been meaning to check it out, but if you knew how many moves, job changes and shadowfades I’ve accomplished in the last eight years, you’d begin to understand the backlog I’ve created.  It is staggering until you forget.  Thank the maker I sat down and read that short story back in May.  My enthusiasm for the story, which shared elements and nuances of the original work from back in the day, prompted me to get everyone back together for a weekend.  Within an hour of arrival, we knew we had something in the way of a re-write/reboot of the college space opera!

That weekend rekindled the passion for ideacraft that made everything seem possible and accessible back in those days.  Yes adulthood has been very much all about the pragmatic and I get it, but creativity and pragmatism are their own biggest competitor.  I’ve spent nearly the last decade honing my pragmatism to a “sufficiently practical” blade that manages to cut through most of the nonsense.  I think it’s about time new pragmatism meets old creativity and assist with some power-leveling.

Keep an eye out for more postings as summer wears itself out and my schedule re-settles.  Also, TV got real depressing didn’t it?  I mean, a whole televised event that goes on for millenia showcasing physical prowess to medal the best of the best on the planet at the most non-essential of tasks?  You couldn’t pay me to watch synchronized swimming, commercials, diving, ping pong, commercials, Guitar Hero, Luge, Hopscotch, spin-around-real-fast-and-throw-a-rock, or anything else shown on the [commercials] Olympics.  Olympic fever my ass!  Summer replacement shows are typically terrible, but every four years they get so much worse.

Check out Iron Sun Fiction Forge [commercial] on Facebook to get an idea of the writing group I mentioned!  Like us on Facebook or we will synchronize dive off of a Luge and perform some really beautifully choreographed pool dances!  

Hmm, that sounded way more bad-ass in my head.

Synchronized Swimming?  It is literally a Brittney Spears music video with water resistance.

One thought on “Like sands in an hourglass! A blast from the past?

Leave a Reply

